Used car salesmen have fallen to a new low


My wife and I are in the market for a good, pre-owned vehicle, so we’ve been scanning the ads on craigslist.com quite a bit lately. Over the weekend we came across an ad for a car rental company that is selling previous rentals. The ad offered a number to call or text Antwon “to make an appointment.”

Just about everything else we wanted to know was in the ad, so I sent a short text: You available at 2 p.m. today to show us a car listed on Craigslist?

A couple hours went by before the action picked up. My first reply was from someone named Justin. “Sure, come on in. What time is good for you? What is your name?

This was followed up by a few other questions – none of which had anything to do with the car  – mostly personal information about me. Then I got a phone call. A little small talk ensued before I confirmed we’ll be there about 2.

Five minutes later James called me. “Did you just get a call from Justin?,” he asked.

I responded Yes, then James told me to ask for him when I get there. I explained that the ad said I should talk to Antwon and that  I am interested in buying a car, not getting in the middle of fight between two guys trying to fight over a commission. Mind you, at this point neither Justin or James had asked which car I was interested in or what my needs were. I finished admonishing James and promptly ended the call.

Suddenly, my phone began to light up with text messages from both James and Justin, each urging me to talk to them when I get there.

My reply to both was: I only deal with professionals and will be going elsewhere to buy a car. Please delete my name and number from your phone.

I thought that would be the end of it. But one of the guys still had a little more fight in him. During my wife’s birthday dinner a few hours later I received a call that I kicked over to voice mail. It was Justin, wanting to know if I was still interested in buying a car.

We haven’t been into any other dealerships since this process began, however I have read a few reviews of dealerships and for the most part it sounds like commission-crazy hyenas have become the norm.

Looks like we’ll be buying our next car on Craigslist or Ebay, as we’ve done with our last four purchases.

About Paul Fiarkoski

New age marketer
This entry was posted in Business, Life, Marketing, Money, Saving, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

