Here’s proof you cannot rely on Facebook Insights


As if Facebook hasn’t done enough to lose the faith of those of us who depend on their Insights to gauge the effectiveness of our efforts, consider the experience I had today.

I updated the cover photo for the Rosenblatt Stadium Facebook page that I manage. Within 30 minutes the photo garnered forty-two likes and four comments; however, Facebook was reporting that a total of only eight people saw the post.

I’m no mathematician but something just didn’t add up. Is my reasoning off that at least 42 people would had to have seen the post in order to like it? At least with Likes I can confirm who actually liked the post. So is total views an arbitrary number based on some unreliable permutation? Nice try Facebook.

I’m not calling this a conspiracy just yet but I can’t say I much faith left in Facebook Insights.

About Paul Fiarkoski

Arizona based adventure and lifestyle blogger
This entry was posted in Business, Career, Life, Marketing, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

